You owe me was really sad. It took me forever to read because I kept getting side tracked with my own thoughts and feelings on situations such as this. This story is too sad and I almost could not read it. I actually had to force myself to read it and it took a long time. I was not able to read it for class just because I didn’t want to talk about it in class and I was afraid someone would say something really sad in class. I read it and now I feel like I must write about it.

Reading this I felt like it was so personal. Like I feel like I was able to feel her feelings, I felt like I was in the situation and it kind of hurt. I think about kids and its so sad to see and hear about the things they go through. God has a funny plan, sometimes I don’t think he knows what he is doing at all. Why would someone create children to live and then take them away such a short time later. Why does he create people and then make them sick? We like to believe in heaven and that it a better place but if heaven is better then why even put us on earth? Are we on earth to be punished? That doesn’t make any sense either because then why are we put on earth and then some people and children have to suffer a lot before they get to heaven. A lot of times God takes such good people from earth but leaves the bad ones to do harm to others. Okay so maybe some people have proven to be too good for earth and so he takes them to heaven and bad people arent worthy of heaven so he leaves them on earth? Isn’t earth supposed to be good?

Okay I am just letting my mind wonder too much. This story was sad and I hate to see or hear about kids suffering.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. elizabethparisi says:

    Breanna,
    It sounds like it was such a struggle for you to have to write about this essay. From what you’ve said in class, I know that you really have a special place in your heart for children, and want to spend your life protecting them. I thought that what you said was interesting, because in many ways it mirrors the feelings of the people that Arnold described: her coworkers in the children’s cancer center. Arnold wondered what was wrong with her and the people that she worked with; they were somehow able to come back to work every day even though the children they interacted with were dying. Even after having lost a child that was very close to them, the employees showed up for work and tried to move on with their lives. Arnold wondered if there was a side of her that was emotionally detached and allowed her to deal with the losses. However, I think that the way you felt when you wrote this – dismayed, horrified, heart-broken – was similar to how these people probably feel as a part of their job. It has been very hard for you to write about this subject precisely because you are compassionate and love kids so much, just as the people at the hospital love the children so much that they cannot discuss the tragedy of having lost one.

  2. elizabethparisi says:

    Oops, didn’t send it under my account, sorry.

    Breanna,
    It sounds like it was such a struggle for you to have to write about this essay. From what you’ve said in class, I know that you really have a special place in your heart for children, and want to spend your life protecting them. I thought that what you said was interesting, because in many ways it mirrors the feelings of the people that Arnold described: her coworkers in the children’s cancer center. Arnold wondered what was wrong with her and the people that she worked with; they were somehow able to come back to work every day even though the children they interacted with were dying. Even after having lost a child that was very close to them, the employees showed up for work and tried to move on with their lives. Arnold wondered if there was a side of her that was emotionally detached and allowed her to deal with the losses. However, I think that the way you felt when you wrote this – dismayed, horrified, heart-broken – was similar to how these people probably feel as a part of their job. It has been very hard for you to write about this subject precisely because you are compassionate and love kids so much, just as the people at the hospital love the children so much that they cannot discuss the tragedy of having lost one.

Leave a Reply

