Intelligence

I really enjoyed the readings for this week. I liked how they took a very different perspective on how one defines intelligence. As college students we are lead to believe that how we perform academically is the ultimate determination when considering our intelligence. However, I think Rose’s essay does an excellent job in disproving this. I could not agree more with his work in “Blue-Collar Brilliance”. As a pre-dental student working as a medical assistant in an oral surgeons office, I can certainly understand where Rose is coming from. Often times I find myself thinking that the academic work we do in undergraduate school is often “busy work”. Taking classes that do not pertain to my career or studying topics that I will have no use for in the years to come. I cannot help but admire the work that I do at the oral surgeons office. It is here where I’m truly learning. I am getting practical experience that I cannot get off the words printed in textbooks or attending pointless lectures. Here I am faced with the stress, wit, and practical skill useful in becoming a dentist.  Even in dental school I believe students do not know what they are capable of until they reach clinical practice. How could you know if the “knowledge” you gained is actually valuable? It is not until you make use of these concepts in which you can truly determine if you attained any sort of practical knowledge. As a student – it has always been assumed that just simply “knowing stuff” make you smart. But merely knowing all of this information is completely different than applying it in a practical sense. I highly doubt that many of the cases I will see as a dentist will be the picture perfect case diagramed in textbooks. Every patient will be different and each treatment must be suitable to their conditions. Intelligence is not always about how much “stuff” you simply know, or how well you can perform academically. Intelligence should be determined by how well you can perform in a practical sense, since after-all, that how you go through life.

This entry was posted in week 11 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intelligence

  1. elizabethparisi says:

    Stephanie,
    I really like the way that you related the lessons from this week’s reading to your education and career as a dentist. I agree with you completely that clinical work is what really makes a difference. Often, we are told that we will forget everything we’ve learned in high school because we’ll never use it, then that we will forget many of the things that we learned as Undergraduate students. It truly feel like such a waste to think of all of the work that has gone into the pursuit of knowledge that will not apply directly to the job that I want to do the rest of my life. Truly, the hours that I have spent carrying our research and doing clinical work have been so much more meaningful and informative than any class that I have taken to fulfill my degree requirements.

  2. Exactly! Especially taking the DEC’s here – I’m taking a European history class next semester which I am dreading! It will do nothing to help me with my career path later on down the road, and honestly I am not interested at all – I just need the requirement! And research/clinical work is great! It’s like real life application of what you’re learning/want to study.

Leave a Reply

