“Beast” Personal Statement

The two personal statements I attached to this post are certainly powerful and exist as examples of how I want my personal statement to sound. Also, the commentary shows you how an admission committee interprets your personal statement – giving you an inside look into what goes through their mind while reading your essay. From the first essay, I really liked how strong the conclusion was – and how she was able to tie in everything she accomplished without making the reader feel overwhelmed. Everything she mentioned pertained to why she chose to pursue this career.

The second essay was equally as powerful. What I admired most was his/her ability to transition into the different topics without making it sound like a list of accomplishments. Both of these essays make me reconsider how I want to present myself in my personal statement. After all, it was your one and only chance to prove how unique you are to the admission committee. The most difficult part for me is finding a way to stand out in the most tasteful way. I had no clue drafting a personal statement would be this hard!

 

http://sites.duke.edu/predental/files/2011/10/Sample-Essay-3.pdf

http://sites.duke.edu/predental/files/2011/10/Sample-Essay-1.pdf

This entry was posted in week 10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

