Optometry School

The prospect of graduate school seems frighteningly close. Being only a sophomore, I am now honorarily scared out of my wits after taking WRT 303 and being forced to think critically about the admissions process (thanks Professor Lucenko!) However, I think this is a great opportunity for me to plan my future. There are only 21 optometry schools in the United States, a staggeringly low number. The top schools I am interested in applying to are as follows:

1) SUNY College of Optometry (which is in the city, and not to mention the only one in New York!)

On the day of the interview you will be required to write a short essay about a topic that will be disclosed to you on that day. The interview is conducted by 3 members of the Admissions Committee and is an opportunity to get to know you better, to further learn about your academic and personal achievements, your leadership potential and gauge your communication skills.

2) Southern California College of Optometry (because I would love to spend 4 years away from the nest and see what the world is like outside of New York)

(Personal Statement direction are not included on the main website)

3) New England College of Optometry (I think that life in Boston would also broaden my perspective of where I can see myself living and practicing for the rest of my professional career)

Describe what inspires your decision for becoming an optometrist, including your preparation for training in this profession, your aptitude and motivation, the basis for your interest in optometry, and your future career goals. Your essay should be limited to 4500 characters.

This entry was posted in week 9 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Optometry School

  1. The one year before applying will fly by so it is great that you are thinking about this all in advance! I knew there were limited number of optometry schools in the United States – but I didn’t know they were this low! For dental school, there are about 65, but when you take into consideration all of the schools take only a tiny percentage of out of state students – this number gets dramatically lower. I can only imagine how much stress this must be. But you’re at a great school and already have a head start compared to many of the other applicants. Have you shadowed optometrists? I know this also is appealing/something admissions look for in applications. Also, I wish the best for you and I hope you make it into SUNY College of Optometry! First, for the great price of all SUNY school – and secondly, I know your boyfriend lives in the city so this would be wonderful! You have a lot of hard work within the next year before applying and I wish you nothing but the best, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

