Fairytales and Everlasting Life

These essays were very different from last week’s articles. One that stuck out to me the most was Emerson’s essay. His style of writing was difficult to read, especially when reading late at night after work. Anyway, I kept reading, and then rereading almost every paragraph. I really wanted to understand his point of view when it comes to values and beliefs. I feel like that’s probably one of the reasons why he wrote in such a vague style. I believe he wanted us to try and dig through the tough exterior of each sentence and gain a deep understanding of what he is trying to say.

One line I believe I understand is the line, “Don’t tell me I am ready to die. I know not what shall be. The only preparation I can make is by fulfilling my present duties. This is everlasting life.” When I finished the essay, I went back to read that sentence. It really stuck out to me. For me, the way I deciphered it is probably different from what anyone else thinks. I believe he is trying to say to fulfill what makes you happy. You don’t want to continue to live with the thought of just making money or buying a house, especially if that’s the only reason why we are living. We live to make ourselves happy. We live to go out to the world and live the way we want to live. I feel like we grow to go to college, get a good job, make money, get a house, make a family and die. That’s a pretty sad way to live. That’s not how I want to die. I want to fulfill every dream and live every day in the moment. I want to go out and enjoy the outside world, whether it be swimming in the waters of the Bahamas’ or laying on the grass in my front yard. We live to make ourselves genuinely happy. If we are happy, we are in no rush to die. We want to live our everlasting life.

Another essay that struck me was an essay on the “I Believe” website. This essay is called “Find a Good Frog,” by Delia Motavalli. She writes about dreaming about finding that one person, your Prince Charming, who is everything you want someone to be. She writes about how when someone is little, they want to find someone perfect. They want to find, as I mentioned, their Prince Charming. Her mom said to her, “Don’t spend your life looking for Prince Charming. Instead, find yourself a really good frog.” What her mom means is that if you spend the rest of your life looking for someone perfect, you’re going to be looking forever with no happy ending. You’re going to end up alone. Find a frog, accept and love their flaws and only then will you find true happiness.

I love this essay so much. Every little girl dreams of having their knight in shining armor, that special, perfect prince to treat them like a princess. They expect perfection. However, there really is no such thing as perfection. A person can’t constantly search for someone who came out of their dreams. If it were that easy, love wouldn’t be so hard to find. If you think you like someone, you shouldn’t pick at their flaws or how they should be like. Embrace who they really are, flaws and all. That’s how someone finds true love. You can’t live in a world of fantasy or fairytale. You have to live in a world of reality.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

