In Tune with Nature

I chose to read “Living Life With ‘Grace And Elegant Treeness’ ” by Ruth Kamps after searching through the “environment” tag on the This I Believe website.

Ruth’s story is one of transition. She moved from a large city to the country around 40 years ago with her husband. Her transition, however, is much more than a physical one. Ruth finds herself out on her porch staring up at one giant pine tree every day. She analyzes its intricacies and its beauty. Ruth’s mother dies while she is young and pregnant. She, being religious, turned to the church for comfort. However, she finds herself locked out of the church one morning, with a Priest staring at her, not letting her in. He turned her away in her time in need. She then begins to find peace and solace from the pine tree in her yard. She admires her tree’s good job at being graceful and elegant. She sees a little of herself in the tree that she admires. Ruth comes to the conclusion that she can be moral and spiritual person without being religious – she believes “all living things believe and feel in their particular living ways.”

As I said before, I originally found this piece and read it because it was one of the first that came up under the “environment” tag. I thought these types of essay might be appealing to me because I am environmental science major. As I read it, I was struck by how poetic and eloquent it was. This essay really reminded me of John Muir’s voice and spirit. He once said that “In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks” and often mentioned how a person’s interaction with nature is spiritual. It seems that Ruth has come to understands this.

I can relate with Ruth. I often admire the beauty in nature and find peace within it.

 

If anyone is interested, here is the link to her piece:

http://thisibelieve.org/essay/9/

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Tune with Nature

  1. breannanappi says:

    I find it so interesting how this was one of the first ones to come up after typing in environment. I would thing something like saving trees and animals and stuff would come up. This seems to be more of a story and I think that is really cool.
    It is sad how when she needed help that she was turned away from god, the one person who is supposed to be there no matter what happens. Why did they turn her away?
    I also like how when she had no one that she was able to turn to a tree, to mother nature. I think it is great how someone can always find someone or something to look to for help when they need it.

  2. cjchumas says:

    I’ll be honest here and admit that I was just scrolling through blog posts looking for one to respond to before the deadline, and I’m so glad I stumbled on this one. I thought that Ruth Kamps’ essay was really moving, especially for me. I’m not a religious person at all. In fact, I’ll abandon my fear of offending my peers and even go as far as to say that I condemn the dominion of conformed religion. I love the quote: “all living things believe and feel in their particular living ways.” I spend a lot of time outdoors, and like Kamps, I too like to think that I am very in-touch with nature. I think theres a lot of deep spirituality in nature and the admiration of all living things, and that nature has it’s very own sense of divinity.

Leave a Reply

