A Walk Down Memory Lane

I always feel a sense of nostalgia whenever I think about the “old” days, when my family actually got together to celebrate Thanksgiving and Christmas or when my cousins and I use to attend the local fair that occurs at the end of every summer. It is these memories that experiences that play a pivotal role in defining who a person is, and I think it is interesting to read about such a subjective topic about remembering.

What particularly struck me while reading this week’s text was Steven King’s account of Editor John Gould’s advice in “On Writing”: “‘When you write a story, you’re telling yourself the story,’ he said. ‘When you rewrite, your main job is taking out all the things that are not the story'”(King 445). While writing my own short essay for this week’s assignment, I found it difficult at times to stay focused on what was most important in what I was trying to convey in my essay. I found myself meandering from memory to memory and had trouble deciding if juxtaposing memories hold any significance.

I emulated my essay based on Joe Brainard’s I Remember piece, which I thought was pretty interesting in how it followed a logical flow of events; one memory of his past sparked another memory. I liked the rawness of the piece: “I remember my mother cornering with into corners to squeeze out blackheads. (Hurt like hell)/ I remember (hurt like hell) Saturday night hair washings of fingernails to scalp” (Brainard 115). Nothing was excluded from what he thought was important to convey to the reader, yet each memory was important to him in that it showed how his childhood differed from other generations.

I think that much of how a person developed and evolved into the person they are today is a direct effect of their experiences and the people that he/she surrounds themselves. By investigating such experiences and acquaintances, the true identity of oneself unfolds.

This entry was posted in week 3 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

