Memories

I really enjoyed the readings for this week; I found their overall message to be very heartfelt and genuine. I believe that any recollection of a memory must have some extent of sincerity and compassion – or else it would not be worth retaining. Even if one may recall a horrific event, the authenticity of that recollection is often portrayed in vivid emotions. These memories are uncovered in many forms – rarely as a picture perfect snap shot of a moment in time. The untainted emotions – the scents, sounds, textures, images; all combine in such a way that the author is presented with great difficulty when trying to describe the sensation. 
                I found Brainard’s approach to describing his childhood memories both charming and captivating. Each fragment of his piece gave the reader just enough insight to feel the emotion he is describing or visualize exactly what he recalls. From the “flood of warm white” inside burnt marshmallows, to the “fingernails to scalp” Saturday night hair washings – Brainard was able to relay his memories in a playfully entertaining manor (113-115). Similar to “Why I Write” by Williams we read the first day of class, this reading was entertaining and captivating – and I really enjoyed the refreshing, simplistic style.
                Codrescu’s piece “Nostalgia for Everything” had a similar tactic – rather than describing a mere memory, Codrescu portrayed an array of scenarios all of which are brought about by the smell of wood fires. She describes tastes, such as the “bitter, hot espresso” and raw emotion while “feeling so terribly young and alone” (198). 
                Contrarily, Wolff takes quit a different spin on remembering in his piece, “Last Shot”. Rather than remembering his friend as whom he had been, he tends to remember him “in terms of what he never had a chance to be” (58). By taking this approach I believe that a memory may begin to feel more painful than desirable – because one is constantly reminded of how much he is missing.
            Memory is a tricky topic to unfold. It may not always be provoked by a single sensation – any extent of imagery, sound, scent, can all trigger ones memory to a delightful, or perhaps no so cherished, moment in time.
            What I find even more fascinating than the memory itself is what can trigger and “unlock” this memory. I have read many articles on the power of music and how it can aid in the recollection of memories in individuals suffering with memory loss. I couldn’t find the exact article that I wanted to post but I did find this video that is worth watching http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyZQf0p73QM

This entry was posted in week 3 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories

  1. jlavalliere says:

    I also enjoyed the readings this week. Wolff’s piece had the most affect on me. It brought up some sad memories of losing people in my life and how I remember them. Sometimes I can’t help but wonder what they would be doing now. This type of thinking lead to a sad place where I ended up missing them and wishing they were still here. The good memories of them living can also be sad too because I want to relive those moments. It’s amazing how little things can trigger your memory. I always think of my uncle when people talk about fishing or hunting.
    Sometimes I feel as if I have memory loss. I tend to forget certain things about my uncle like if he had blue or green eyes. Or I forget how his house looked like. I know it was small and by a lake. I think the color is green but I’m just not sure anymore. I think it is really cool that music can help people remember. People say listening to music while studying helps them remember things. I tend to get distracted my the music and not focus but sometimes classical music helps. I think there was also a study about color and how certain colors help you remember.

  2. breannanappi says:

    I loved this weeks readings. Memory is a big part of my life because sometimes that is all we have of certain things once they are gone. I completely agree with the post above about losing people in our lives and wondering what they were doing, if they were watching us and wishing they were here. I feel that way every single day of my life. After time passes we begin to forget the little things and that is kind of hard because this is most of the time a person who has been in our life for a while, someone we saw a lot and now we can’t remember what color their eyes were or what their house looked like or what life was like when they were around.

    I also find it extremely fascinating how such small things can remind us of such big memories. A smell or something can remind us. Even more than that, someone breathing reminded me of something. Unfortunately it was not something that I like to remember, it is a rather sad memory for me but it was still crazy how all it took was someone to breathe to make me remember it.

Leave a Reply

