Truth?

I feel that this weeks readings were really confusing. They were hard for me to understand, it made me feel like I don’t belong at Stony Brook because I should be able to read that. Perhaps I wasn’t focusing. I know the language was really confusing to me. I guess because they were written so long ago, the language was different from now and I guess I got confused. The most confusing one was the Montaigne reading. Maybe because it was much longer and required so much more attention and focus than the Bacon essay. I know the Montaigne talked a lot about memory, and how it makes you superior to others (I think).  The Bacon essay said “But, howsoever these things are thus in men’s depraved judgement, and affections, yet truth, which only doth judge itself, teacheth that the inquiry of truth, which is the love-making, or wooing of it, the knowledge of truth, which is the presence of it, and the belief of truth, which is the enjoying of it, is the sovereign good of human nature.” This really long sentence caught my attention. I think it caught my attention because I did not really get it at all. Well maybe I understood a little bit, I think it means that it is a good thing to teach the truth. The knowledge of truth is what is happening at the moment and believing the truth is enjoying it. Those are all the things that rule good human nature. 

 

I think I understand that a little bit but I am not sure those are the things I think of when I think about the truth and lies. When I think of lying and honesty, I think that is it almost always good to tell the truth but sometimes we lie for the benefit of others. I do believe we get caught in our lies very often but sometimes we cannot help but lie. If the truth may hurt someone’s feelings then we might lie. I think honesty is good and even if the truth hurts, we should speak it. Unfortunately, sometimes lying to keep someone you care about happy, is an instinct that we cannot just get rid of. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

