Memoir

This week’s readings were interesting, informative, and very confusing. Most of the readings, if not all of the readings, were about lying and the reading really tried to go in depth with what lying really is and what it’s about.  I read through the readings and highlighted points I thought were important. Though, I read and marked off important ideas, I was still very confused on some of the topics I was reading and I’m not really sure what to write about. I believe some of the themes the writers were trying to make were about lying, honesty, telling the truth as you are writing a story. Some of the readings also seemed to mention a lot about what a memoir was. That’s a subject that really interested me in some of the articles. Some of the readings describe a memoir as remembering your own life. Going through your memories and recollecting your own life the experiences you may have one through. The trick with this is that you have to remember what truthfully happened without fabricating or exaggerating any certain details, especially when it comes to writing a personal essay. A writer must not make anything up and cannot re-create what happened. Even if one detail in the whole story is unreal, it affects the concept of what a personal essay is really about. You’re trying to build a relationship with the reader and you want to draw them in with stories about truth. It may not connect with certain people however, it doesn’t mean that no connections will be made.

            I really liked the reading about memory and imagination and how it connects with each other. The reading confused me a little however, I hope to go over it in detail this week in class. Though, people may think that there is a distinct difference between the two there is still something that connects to two words. The writer mentions about how memory reaches out to imagination. This is when invention is the result. Sometimes we may have a memory and as we recollect what happened during that time, moments may become fuzzy, you can’t recall certain details, and sometimes you can’t translate what someone is saying as they talk. This is when imagination kicks in and tries to fill in the missing pieces of the memory. But that doesn’t make it a true memory. What is actually remembered is what become authenticity and genuineness. I feel like that is something a reader will appreciate.

            This reading mentions memoir. They article interprets it as a narration and reflection, of storytelling and essay writing. I love how this article describes what a memoir is: broken images, fragments of memory and messes of detail. This creates a work of art created by the writer inspired by what they remember.

            I want to try and use this effect for my writing. I don’t want to make up any stories. The goal I have is being truthful and honest with myself. I know I’m going to have pieces of the puzzle missing, however I hope to find out who I am. Hopefully by telling my own story, I won’t need all the puzzle pieces.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memoir

  1. klucenko says:

    Hi Larissa: Thanks for your very thoughtful post. You write: “I read through the readings and highlighted points I thought were important. Though, I read and marked off important ideas, I was still very confused on some of the topics I was reading.” What specifically was confusing to you? Perhaps you can include a quote or two and then explain what’s still unclear. I (and others) can respond and maybe offer some help. Also, you write: “The trick with [recollecting experiences] is that you have to remember what truthfully happened without fabricating or exaggerating any certain details, especially when it comes to writing a personal essay. A writer must not make anything up and cannot re-create what happened.” Throughout your blog entry you seem to be trying to untangle to tricky concept of memory. As you note, we can’t always recall in exact detail an event or experience. Even if we believe we are 100% certain, another person might have a different memory of the same event, and be equally certain of their own memory. So whose memory is true, and whose is false? Both? Neither? When we talk about autobiographical writing, we have to rethink the concept of “truth”; it’s not simple or factual. We’ll talk more about this on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

