Self-Discovery

After reading Philip Lopate’s “Introduction on the Qualities of the Personal Essay,” I am more eager and excited to get started on the future assignments of this course. One of the qualities that Lopate mentions in his piece is the idea of self-discovery in writing a personal essay. One of the main reasons I took this course was to not only improve my writing, but to better understand myself. I have often found that the hardest subject to write about is in fact,  myself. I think the reason I have such a hard time writing about myself is because I still am in the process of figuring out who I am. My one hope for this course is that I indeed, embark on journey of self-discovery – that through my writing, I will begin to look inward and gain better understanding of my past, present and future. Hopefully, through my writing, I will also inspire others and give them something to relate to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self-Discovery

  1. breannanappi says:

    I was really excited to get started after reading this as well. It was really confusing in the beginning I think but I started to understand why I wanted to take this class. Of course my first thought was to take this class because I know I will have to write a personal essay for anything that I apply to. I also wanted to better my writing skills because I feel that no matter what we do in life, writing will always be a part of what we do. Now I understand that writing helps us to figure out who we are and what we want in like. I am sure you will inspire others, that is always what I want to do. I cannot talk about my story because it is too hard but I can certainly write about it and hopefully the people that read it will be inspired to keep going no matter what happens to them. You can’t go anywhere unless you try.

Leave a Reply

